TiPD Learning Community – January 18, 2017

Need A Resource?? 
The Healthy Peninsula Community Resource Guide is just a click away: http://communityresourceguide.org



NEWS ABOUT  SENIORS


Alcohol Use and Older Adults  https://nihseniorhealth.gov/alcoholuse/alcoholandaging/01.html


Exercise & Physical Activity: Your Everyday Guide from the National Institute on Aging  https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/publication/exercise-physical-activity/chapter-4-sample-exercises


The FDA provides helpful information sheets on drug/treatment info for older adults:  http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ByAudience/ucm062130.htm


Keeping Lonely Seniors Company Can Help Keep Them Healthy http://khn.org/news/keeping-lonely-seniors-company-can-help-keep-them-healthy/?utm_campaign=KHN%3A+Daily+Health+Policy+Report&utm_source=hs_email&utm_medium=email&utm_content=40134880&_hsenc=p2ANqtz--KFwLG7QftcAAaS0_DgbdIqRljvf3NeFfNSq5C-nezKEDUHsIEo3DTXCKQeHxFMpVGG9TL5-xNn4ZkHcfAX-IMqwxiMJ546Jm-dTRhwnVAeC44FtU&_hsmi=40134880


Older Adults and Depression https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/older-adults-and-depression/index.shtml


Hour-Long Nap May Boost Brain Function in Older Adultshttps://medlineplus.gov/news/fullstory_162923.html


Dance Experience and Associations with Cortical Gray Matter Thickness in the Aging Population https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5123027/


Anxiety Disorders in Older Adults  https://nihseniorhealth.gov/anxietydisorders/aboutanxietydisorders/01.html


What Are Ways to Prevent Falls and Related Fractures? Fast Facts: An Easy-to-Read Series of Publications for the Public https://www.niams.nih.gov/Health_Info/Bone/Osteoporosis/Fracture/prevent_falls_ff.asp


Aging in Place Needs Out of the Box Thinking  http://www.nextavenue.org/aging-in-place-out-of-box/?hide_newsletter=true&utm_source=Next+Avenue+Email+Newsletter&utm_campaign=7585eface0-01_10_2017_Tues_Newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_056a405b5a-7585eface0-165443949&mc_cid=7585eface0&mc_eid=2496347cbd


A Cure for Senior Loneliness Is Within Our Reach http://www.nextavenue.org/cure-senior-loneliness/?hide_newsletter=true&utm_source=Next+Avenue+Email+Newsletter&utm_campaign=7585eface0-01_10_2017_Tues_Newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_056a405b5a-7585eface0-165443949&mc_cid=7585eface0&mc_eid=2496347cbd


Can Mentoring Change Aging in America? http://www.nextavenue.org/can-mentoring-change-aging-america/?hide_newsletter=true&utm_source=Next+Avenue+Email+Newsletter&utm_campaign=bc6a3d5489-01_16_2017_MLK_Gen2Gen&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_056a405b5a-bc6a3d5489-165443949&mc_cid=bc6a3d5489&mc_eid=2496347cbd


NEWS ABOUT CAREGIVERS


National Caregiver Training Program Caregiver Workbook http://www.caregiver.va.gov/pdfs/Caregiver_Workbook_V3_Module_1.pdf


Caring for a Person with Alzheimer's Disease: Your Easy-to-Use Guide from the National Institute on Aging  https://www.nia.nih.gov/alzheimers/publication/caring-person-ad/adapting-activities-people-ad#daily


Are you caring for a loved one with Huntington's Disease? Find info and resources on the National Library of Medicine's Pinterest board: https://www.pinterest.com/nlm4caregivers/caregivers-for-huntingtons-disease/